The first book in this series was told from the point of view of Clay Cooper an old before his time seen it all ex-mercenary. This story is viewed through the eyes of an impressionable, never been more than a days ride from home, young bard named Tam.

I really enjoyed Tam’s story and through her, the stories of the members of her mercenary band Fable. Second books in a series can be iffy but Nicholas Eames nails it with wit and a narrative that delves deeper into the world of the Heartwyld as well as his characters, who are as fallible as they are heroic.

“Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.

When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It’s adventure she wants – and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.”



******.  ******

Also, may I humbly recommend: 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: